Рекомендуем:
Lila by Marilynne Robinson
0
/ Просмотров:  890 / Комментариев: 0

Lila by Marilynne Robinson
Marilynne Robinson, one of the greatest novelists of our time, returns to the town of Gilead in an unforgettable story of a girlhood lived on the fringes of society in fear, awe, and wonder. Lila, homeless and alone after years of roaming the countryside, steps inside a small-town Iowa church — the only available shelter from the rain — and ignites a romance and a debate that will reshape her life. She becomes the wife of a minister, John Ames, and begins a new existence while
Home by Marilynne Robinson (Дом. Мэрилин Робинсон)
0
/ Просмотров:  1 133 / Комментариев: 0

Home by Marilynne Robinson (Дом. Мэрилин Робинсон)
Hundreds of thousands were enthralled by the luminous voice of John Ames in Gilead, Marilynne Robinson's Pulitzer Prize — winning novel. Home is an entirely independent, deeply affecting novel that takes place concurrently in the same locale, this time in the household of Reverend Robert Boughton, Ames's closest friend. Glory Boughton, aged thirty-eight, has returned to Gilead to care for her dying father. Soon her brother, Jack — the prodigal son of the family, gone for
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Галаад. Мэрилин Робинсон)
0
/ Просмотров:  728 / Комментариев: 0

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson (Галаад. Мэрилин Робинсон)
Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the
Housekeeping. Marilynne Robinson (Домашнее хозяйство. Мэрилин Робинсон)
1
/ Просмотров:  3 788 / Комментариев: 0

Housekeeping. Marilynne Robinson (Домашнее хозяйство. Мэрилин Робинсон)
"Nothing but the darkness, and all around them destruction, and before them nothing but the fire-a bastard people, far from God, singing and crying in the wilderness!" First published in 1953, Baldwin's first novel is a short but intense, semi-autobiographical exploration of the troubled life of the Grimes family in Harlem during the Depression. (на английском языке)